This could take some time!

Hi, hello, good evening..  Just what is the best way to start a blog?  I suppose I should really have a bit of an idea, as I’ve been dabbling with one at work now for the best part of 2 years, so it’s not as if it’s a new concept for me!

Get a good picture in at the start - always helps!

This is a bit different though, as I don’t have the option to hand it all over to the web designer to ‘fix’ after I’ve finished playing – and getting it all a bit too wrong!  Actually, I suppose I could ask for help if I get really stuck, and I’m sure she would sort it out in a  few minutes – but I’m hoping it doesn’t come to that!

So, what’s it all about, and why should I think you’d want to visit my blog anyway?   Well, firstly I know that you’re just itching to know all about the fox picture so that helps I suppose!  That is also why I hope you’ll keep coming back, because a lot of my blog will be about my attempts to get close to wildlife all over Dorset (and occasionally elsewhere) and the no doubt frustrating attempts at getting ‘THE’ shot each time..

I’ll also be using the blog to keep you updated on the progress of the nestboxes in my garden.  At the moment we are a bit spoilt for choice,as the great tits are going great guns, and the starlings are just venturing into the world of nestbuilding.  I say at the moment with fingers crossed (which makes typing a bit more difficult!) because the tits are due to leave any day now, and the starlings left about 2 hours ago and have yet to come back! I will add some video in time, as I know I have the instructions written down somewhere at work so I’ll have a go at finding it tomorrow – don’t want you missing out on the spectacle!

Another photo?  OK.  Let’s choose one from Brownsea Island last week.

Can you see what it is yet?

 This is one cool dude, or slightly misguided.  I’m not sure which, but happy to plump for the cool dude idea.  It’s a tawny owl, who starts the day in full view on his branch.  He then gets a bit of stage fright as he realises that people below can see him so he edges along the branch and then simply sticks his head into the leaves!  “Brilliant – I can’t see them so they obviosuly can’t see me either” he seems to think!

So, that’s the first post out of the way..  Didn’t take too long, and I hope you think it’ll be worth coming back sometime soon to see what I get up to with my camera, and if I ever get the video thing working, what a nestbox full of great tits hollering for tehir food sounds/looks like!

Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten.  You wanted to know about that fox picture didn’t you?  Well, I spent a bit of time last firday evening hunkered down on the most incredibly uncomfortable patch of dried clay with my camera at the ready, waiting for a fox to emerge from its den.  After about 20 mins I think I was actually relieved to see the fox way off in the distance and heading away from me -it meant I could give up for the evening!  I trudged around a bit and was then returning back past my original hiding place when I noticed another fox, fast asleep about 20 yards further along the bank!  When I say fast asleep, I mean dead to the world..  I wandered over towards it thinking it must be a dead fox, when it gave a stretch!  The picture is of what I think is a startled fox, but it could equally be of a rather embarrassed fox kicking itself for sleeping so soundly!

So there we are.  The end for now, but I’ll be back again soon.  Don’t forget to leave your comments!

Cheers

Spud

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This could take some time!

  1. Chris S says:

    Yup it certainly looks like a startled fox lol but then I guess anybody would be startled if the first thing they saw when they woke up was you (apart from Carole of course!).

  2. Jane says:

    Well, well, well a virgin blogger… on your own with this one! Not getting any help from me if you get stuck 🙂 Not really, you know where I am… Great start to your blogging career – it might even make me start mine again! Love the photos. Jane

  3. Tina Davis says:

    Looking good so far, i shall read with interest!!

Leave a Reply

